Column of the Verziere

Largo Augusto, 3. (Open Map)


A solitary pillar of Baveno stone stands amongst the urban traffic; it was built in 1612 as a votive offering for the end of the plague in 1577. Christ the Redeemer, designed by Francesco Maria Richini, stands at the top of the pillar above the Verziere market square, from which takes its name.
It was dismantled in 1858 because deemed unsafe but already by 1860 it was restored and served as a monument to the Cinque Giornate uprisings in Milan. In fact, the names of the fallen are engraved on the brass plates that surround the base.Carlo Porta, the famous Milanese dialect poet, considered the Verziere market as a language school due to the spontaneity and vitality with which the trading took place.
It took almost a century to complete the work of the Verziere column due to continuing strife between religious and civil authorities. During this period of discussions the column was even knocked to the ground. Rebuilt in 1611, it fell twice during the building work.