Porta Venezia

74. (Open Map)


This gate was one of the eight principal city gates that were part of the old Spanish walls. During the neoclassical period, they were converted into in customs houses and triumphal gates.
The two monumental tollhouses, which separate Corso Venezia from Corso Buenos Aires, were constructed in 1828 by Rodolfo Vantini, with works ending in September 1832. The architect from Brescia, who won a contest for this project, chose to decorate the structure with sculptures by the most famous artists of the time and bas-reliefs that illustrate episodes of the history of Milan. The latter can be seen in the top corners of the two façades.
Besides its architectural appearance, the number of statues and reliefs that adorn the monument is rather interesting. Standing out among these are Minerva and Mercury by Benedetto Cacciatori and Ceres and Vulcan by Democrito Gandolfi, which face towards the countryside. Abundance and Justice by Pompeo Marchesi and Faithfulness and Eternity by Gaetano Monti, on the other hand, look towards the city.Porta Venezia (Venice Gate) is one of Milan’s historical gates. Until 1860 its name was Eastern Gate or Renza Gate (derived from “Argentia”, because this road led to “Argentium”, today’s Gorgonzola). This gate also led in the direction of Monza, East Brianza and the road to Bergamo.It was the first to be restored by Giuseppe Piermarini, who, in 1782, designed the transformation of the gate into neoclassical style, as well as the restructuring of the embankment of the walls. Despite two years’ of work being carried out, the project was never completed.
Since 2004, the two ex-tollhouses have housed the Bread Museum, a Library and a permanent exhibition on “Bread Culture”.
dei Bastioni.

Don’t miss the numerous statues and reliefs that decorate the monument.