Stadium Giuseppe Meazza - San Siro

Via Dessié, 15. (Open Map)


The Stadio Meazza San Siro (San Siro Stadium) was constructed in 1925, as requested by then president of AC Milan, Piero Pirelli, in the Milanese district of the same name. The structure, designed by architects, Ulisse Stacchini and Alberto Cugini, was opened in 1926.
The structure remained the property of AC Milan until it was purchased by the Municipality of Milan at the end of the Second World War, thus becoming the official facility for Inter as well.
Over the course of its history, the stadium has been restructured several times. In 1934 the four linear stands were connected by the addition of the four curves and in 1947, the mayor Antonio Greppi saw that the capacity was enlarged to hold 150 thousand spectators, later reduced to 100 thousand of which 70 thousand became seated places. On 25th April 1956, the ‘new stadium’ made its debut with a match between Italy and Brazil (3 to 0).
In 1980 the stadium was named after Giuseppe Meazza, a great Milanese football (soccer) player that played for both the Inter team – where he debuted at 17 years of age – and AC Milan.
18 years later, on the occasion of the world championship in 1990, for which San Siro was chosen to host the opening match, the architects Ragazzi and Hoffner designed the construction of a third independent ring, supported by 11 enormous cylindrical towers, as well as a new lighting system and heating system for the grass surface. It was then that the Meazza Stadium took on its current appearance.
Today, the “La Scala of football” always offers a different show, with championship matches and international football and lots more. There are many Italian and international artists that have chosen San Siro as their concert venue.