Founded at the end of the eighteenth century, it stands next to the Teatro alla Scala. Converted into a cinema in 1938 and bombed during the Second World War, it was reconstructed in 1970 by the architect Caccia Dominioni. It is the property of the historic and glorious Accademia dei Filodrammatici, which has given it in concession, from this season onward, to a young group of its ex-students (Corrado Accordino, Tommaso Amadio and Bruno Fornasari). At the centre of its season is contemporary dramaturgy and emerging companies. It has a welcoming hall (200 seats), a foyer and bar, and boasts good acoustics and visibility.